6 nuclear power units approved by the State Council

An executive meeting of the State Council presided by Li Keqiang approved three new nuclear power plant projects in Zhejiang Sanmen, Shandong Haiyang, and Guangdong Lufeng, respectively. As the projects had already been included in China’s National Planning, this approval comes after years of planning and safety checks. These 3 projects will include 6 nuclear power units representing more than 6 GW of power generation capacity in total. While Sanmen and Haiyang are both expansion projects, the Lufeng plant will be built on a new site.

(China GOV)

Share this article: